Springtime Made in the South – Savannah, Georgia

One of the shows I did on my recent trip south was the Springtime Made in the South Show in Savannah, Georgia. On Saturday morning, I brought the Crown Graphic with me to the show. I’d been wanting to try the Fuji ISO 3000 film and this seemed like an ideal place to give it a try. It would give me a chance to try using the camera indoors, and I knew there would be lots of interesting things to photograph. Besides, I figured it would be fun to see the reaction of the other artists to my camera 🙂

I really like the look of the photos I took with the ISO 3000 film. It’s a high contrast film – the whites are bright, the blacks are very dark. I was surprised at how easy it is to shoot indoors without a flash with this film.

The first two photos I took were of my booth. I was curious to see how my bright flower photos would look in black and white.

(c) 2010 Patty Hankins

(c) 2010 Patty Hankins

Once I’d managed to photograph my booth, I headed out to see what else I could find to photograph. At the Sheep Incognito booth, I took a photo of Peter getting ready to take a photo of me with his iPhone. Peter’s photo of me is on Facebook. Be sure to check out Peter’s photos on Facebook if you’d like to see the show in color. Peter’s wife Conni is the genius behind the always adorable Sheep Incognito paintings. Be sure to read the titles of Conni’s paintings.

This was the first photo of a person I’ve taken with the Crown Graphic. Clearly I need to work on my metering of people 🙂

(c) 2010 Patty Hankins

If you read my BeautifulFlowerPicturesBlog – you may have seen my attempts at photographing birds. While my bird photos are getting a bit better, I still haven’t managed to take a decent photo of either an eagle or an owl. Fortunately for me, Jasper James (one of my favorite photographers) had an owl and an eagle sitting on his desk at the show – so I photographed them. I finally found an eagle and an owl that would sit still long enough for me take their picture. If you like photographs of Alaskan landscapes and wildlife – be sure to check out Jasper’s photos.

(c) 2010 Patty Hankins

My next photo was taken at my friends Barry and Sue Dovaston’s Incredible Edible Birdhouses booth. They make the cutest birdhouses – covered with birdseed. I really like the way they display the group of birdhouses in their booth. It took  me a few tries to get the exposure correct for the photos of Barry and Sue’s birdhouses. I didn’t want the white background to be too bright – but also didn’t want to lose the details in the birdhouses. This is the best of the three photos I took. Fortunately, I’ll see Barry and Sue at several more shows this spring – so I can try a few more photos of their birdhouses.

(c) 2010 Patty Hankins

While I was struggling to get the exposure correct for the photo of Barry and Sue’s birdhouses, one of the other photographers at the show asked me if I had a gray card to use for metering. I said I didn’t. It was then I realized that it had never occurred to me to bring a gray card with me. I’m so used to digital photography that the only time I’ve ever used a gray card is when I want to make sure I have a reference in my photo for white balance. I’ve never used one for metering. By the next time I head out with the Crown Graphic – there will be a gray card in my bag. 🙂

My final photo from the Springtime in the South show is the Chick-Fil-A cow. The cow was wandering around the show and he very nicely agreed to pose for a photo. I discovered that I need to make sure I’ve got plenty of room at the top of photo when I frame my subject in the viewfinder. I almost cut off the top of his head in the photo. Oops!

(c) 2010 Patty Hankins

I had lots of fun with the Crown Graphic at the show. I’m planning on bringing it with me to a few more shows this spring – so you’ll probably see more photos of my friend’s booths and art in future postings to my blog.

2 Responses to “Springtime Made in the South – Savannah, Georgia”

  1. Links – March 12, 2010 « Beautiful Flower Pictures Blog: Floral Photography by Patty Hankins Says:

    […] posted some photos from the Springtime Made in the South show on my film photography blog this […]

  2. Beautiful Flower Pictures Blog – Links – March 12, 2010 Says:

    […] posted some photos from the Springtime Made in the South show on my film photography blog this […]


Leave a comment